my friend donna

Today is my friends birthday. She is a beautiful person who is soft and gentle and has a big heart. She has a gorgeous smile and the brightest blue eyes you have ever seen.

We met way back in 1992 when we were doing a training course together. We worked in lots of places together over the years. I was lucky enough to be one of her bridesmaids in 2000. We both had children and saw them grow. We both moved house and interstate numerous times and shared our stories about the new towns and cities we had moved to along with our new jobs. Sometimes we might not talk to each other for months but it always felt like we had only spoken yesterday and we always knew we would talk on March 10 and July 28 which is my birthday.

Today I didn’t make that phone call and I missed it terribly.

My friend Donna died last year on July 22nd. I think of her every single day and wish we could talk just one more time. I wish that I had seen her more during her illness, just to sit with her and hold her hand and reminisce about all the fun times that we had shared together. I wish so many things for Donna that will never happen.

I am glad that I knew her and that we were friends. I am glad that I was lucky enough to stand by her side when she got married. I am glad that I made the trip to see her two days before she passed away and we got to laugh one more time about crazy friends and fun times. I am honoured that I was able to stand at her funeral alongside her other bridesmaid and talk about her life.

I will never forget her. I hope to always stay in touch with her beautiful family in her two children and her sister and nieces and nephews. I hope to always have the friends we shared to remember what a beautiful person Donna was.

Love you Donnawho and Happy Birthday!

TTA – Today, Tomorrow, Always

Donna and I March 2012

Donna and I March 2012

Donna and her two children

Donna and her two kids, Tommy and Sammy. March 2012

Donna, Sammy, Tommy and my two eldest, Angus and Elsie  March 2012

Donna, Sammy, Tommy and my two eldest, Angus and Elsie
March 2012

Donna and her Canberra friends at a fundraiser for her in Trundle. March 9th 2013

Donna and her Canberra friends at a fundraiser for her in Trundle.
March 9th 2013

Donna, Tommy and Sammy

Donna, Tommy and Sammy

2 thoughts on “my friend donna

Leave a comment